Skip to content

Gaining and Losing

February 13, 2009

13th Feb 2009

It’s my birthday~~

Although it’s only about 6 hours left, then I remembered I have this blog. So I thought, why not write something to keep it to myself, so that when I read it next year(insyaAllah) I’ll know the difference between 24 and 25 year-old-me😛

When it comes to birthdays, it’s just normal to get wishes from friends and families starting from the struck of 12 midnight. At least ,now, that I have computer, internet, phones. But, I do feel humans are getting bad in communication eventhough there are so many priviledges in communication nowadays. People don’t send letters, postcards, or even presents anymore. It’s not that I’m demanding for present or anything, and it doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate the wishes I get with so many new style. But it always makes me feel touched with warm words of a letters, instead of a Friendster comments or etc. Don’t you agree with me? The handwritings makes you feel closer to the person, and you can also feel the writer’s emotion when writing it. In the other hand, wishes from e-mail or something, just makes me feel a little curious of how the other person’s feelings when writing them. Plus, if the wishes is so short, that makes you think, does he/she really wanted to wish me ‘Happy Birthday’ because sometimes the wish is just ‘hepi bday!’? I mean, are you for real?😛

Well, as for me, when it comes to 13th Feb, I always feel, well..it’s just a day to gain a year of living. But then, I realize, it’s also a day to lose a year to not living, ie. death. It’s not that I’m denying fate and my faith that we might die young, neither saying we’re all gonna die old, it’s just the way I feel. At least, I’m reminded of death thru birthdays, so it’s not something to celebrate so much either. That’s why I actually feels not so encouraged to get celebrated or having thrown a party or anything. Maybe it’s also because, I’m accustomed to it since I was a child, that I never had a party, or hardly a present, or anything like that. It’s just a day.

Well, I might change my thoughts someday, but now, that’s what I’m feeling. And I wanna keep it to myself. Hate my negativity? Well, that’s just me. Deal with it!*lol*

Last but not least, HAPPY 24th BIRTHDAY to me!!

May you have a life to remember when you’re old with grandchildrens, I hope..InsyaAllah..

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2009 20:48

    ahah~
    truly agreed!
    yeah, i wanted to send u sth by post… u better check it out later k?😛
    i was like you, never get any presents …
    not even a wish before.
    the only one who’d wish me was only mom, but she only did after we’re afar.
    i bet i knew why… coz when i was still in front of her eyes, what would words mean while being face to face is far better?
    that’s it.
    and now she wishes me via letter, simple plain letter.
    no decorations, no fancy cards, no additional music played on the background… just a paper.
    i might have burn it thinking it just a “paper” but those words written on it worth a diamond or more.
    so yeah… a birthday.
    nobody celebrates it dear, until some humans who think it should be celebrated.. throwing a party and all.
    it’s a custom that humans created, i dont know what’s the purpose though.
    but if it meant to remember someone we cares, why not?
    but not too much..
    happy 24th birthday dear.
    i want to wish you everything the best, it’d be a super extended long list if i do, so i’d prefer to say,

    “all the best my friend”

  2. ZaliZabrina permalink*
    February 13, 2009 21:07

    hehe..watashino kokoro wo wakatte kureru hito irun da~~
    lol
    *kandou*
    as always, we always forget to share our feelings when we’re together, but when separated, we always realize how we take for granted of everything we have..
    now, I kinda understand my father and how he doesn’t show his love in front of us.. I always wondered what makes my mom said he’s childish or something like that, but with us, never speaks about things..now I understand that..

Leave a Reply

